KU adds game against New Orleans, completes 2005-2006 Kansas Jayhawk Basketball Schedule

Sept. 13, 2005

LAWRENCE, Kan. - Kansas Athletics officials announced Tuesday that its 2005-06 men's basketball schedule is complete with the addition of a game against the University of New Orleans.

The KU men's team will host New Orleans Thursday, Dec. 29, at 6:30 p.m., in a game televised nationally on ESPN2. The Jayhawks have also added a home game against Yale to the previously announced schedule. In order to accommodate the New Orleans game, Northern Arizona has released Kansas from a game that was to have been played December 31.

"With everything those coaches and players have gone through we thought this would be a great opportunity to showcase their program," head coach Bill Self said. "The fact that ESPN2 is going to televise it is one way to get word out about what these guys have gone through and yet they still have attempted to have some sort of normalcy."

"We're glad to have our schedule complete," Self added. "We expect great games from New Orleans and Yale. New Orleans returns one of the leading scorers in the nation from last season in Bo McCalebb (22.6 ppg in 2004-05) and Yale challenges for the Ivy League title every year."

The completed Kansas men's schedule features two home appearances on CBS - vs. Oklahoma Feb. 5 and vs. Missouri Feb. 18; as many as 11 ESPN match-ups; four ESPN2 contests; three ESPN-Plus Big 12 games; and 11 Jayhawk Television Network appearances. KU will appear on ESPN's Big Monday three times with road games at Missouri Jan. 16 and at Oklahoma State Feb. 13, and a home contest against Texas Tech Jan. 30.

Date Day Opponent Site Nov. 9 Wednesday #FORT HAYS STATE Lawrence, Kan. Nov. 14 Monday #PITTSBURG STATE Lawrence, Kan. Nov. 18 Friday IDAHO STATE Lawrence, Kan. Nov. 21 Monday &Arizona Maui, Hawaii Nov. 22 Tuesday &Arkansas or Connecticut Maui, Hawaii Nov. 23 Wednesday &Gonzaga, Maryland, Michigan State, Chaminade Maui, Hawaii Dec. 1 Thursday NEVADA Lawrence, Kan. Dec. 3 Saturday WESTERN ILLINOIS Lawrence, Kan. Dec. 6 Tuesday vs. Saint Joseph's (MSG) New York, N.Y. Dec. 10 Saturday CALIFORNIA (Kemper) Kansas City, Mo. Dec. 19 Monday PEPPERDINE Lawrence, Kan. Dec. 22 Thursday NORTHERN COLORADO Lawrence, Kan. Dec. 31 Saturday NORTHERN ARIZONA Lawrence, Kan. Jan. 7 Saturday KENTUCKY Lawrence, Kan. Jan. 11 Wednesday *at Colorado Boulder, Colo. Jan. 14 Saturday *KANSAS STATE Lawrence, Kan. Jan. 16 Monday *at Missouri Columbia, Mo. Jan. 21 Saturday *NEBRASKA Lawrence, Kan. Jan. 25 Wednesday *at Texas A&M College Station, Texas Jan. 28 Saturday *at Iowa State Ames, Iowa Jan. 30 Monday *TEXAS TECH Lawrence, Kan. Feb. 5 Sunday *OKLAHOMA Lawrence, Kan. Feb. 8 Wednesday *at Nebraska Lincoln, Neb. Feb. 11 Saturday *IOWA STATE Lawrence, Kan. Feb. 13 Monday *at Oklahoma State Stillwater, Okla. Feb. 18 Saturday *MISSOURI Lawrence, Kan. Feb. 21 Tuesday *BAYLOR Lawrence, Kan. Feb. 25 Saturday *at Texas Austin, Texas Mar. 1 Wednesday *COLORADO Lawrence, Kan. Mar. 4 Saturday *at Kansas State Manhattan, Kan. Mar. 9-12 Thurs-Sun Phillips 66 Big 12 Championship (AAC) Dallas, Texas NCAA Tournament Dates and Sites Selection Sunday - March 12 March 16 & 18 first-second rounds: Greensboro, Jacksonville, Salt Lake City; San Diego March 17 & 19 first-second rounds: Auburn Hills, Dallas, Dayton, Philadelphia March 23 & 25 regional sites: Atlanta, Oakland March 24 & 26 regional sites: Minneapolis, Washington D.C. April 1 & 3 Final Four: Indianapolis One Non-Conference Game TBD Home Games in CAPS #Exhibition game &EA SPORTS Maui Invitational, Maui, Hawaii All dates are subject to change (MSG) - Madison Square Garden, New York (Kemper Arena) - Kemper Arena, Kansas City, Mo. (AAC) - American Airlines Center, Dallas

-->